it begins

You’d think I’d take the hoarding of yarn by others as a warning that yarn is both a tempting mistress, and by some law of physics unbenownst to me, yarn attracts more of itself.

I am throwing all sense to the wind today, because I am both disregarding the matter in the previous sentence as well as attempting to go to a yarn store on a Saturday during their Boxing Week sale. I’d like to, as part of #27 on my list of 101 in 1001, knit something with substance, so the plan for today is to pick up yarn to knit the Yarn Harlot’s scarf of goodness, and also get a pair of those slippery needles since I don’t actually own any. I’m a relative virgin in this (been to second base, but not really gone “all the way”), I need some experienced knitters and I think the yarn store will have those types of people in droves to point me in the right direction. I hope.

Pray for mojo.

Tomorrow is also the first day since the Amazing Afternoon Breakdown that I’ll be seeing people from that baking swap. Ah, how I really hope my imaginings of awkward silences and public shunning are really just imaginings, but in case that uncomfortable comes to fruition, at least I’ll have a Yarn Story to share to fill up the silences. I mean, what good adventure story doesn’t start with the plans to knit a scarf and a yarn store?!?

And if I miss you tomorrow while entertaining a cute out of towner and then hauling the drunks all over the city in the Gypsyhick Cab: I wish you all the absolute best in the new year. May everything be shiny and your coffee, tea, and biscuits be fresh. May your beer be not skunky and your hangovers be non-existent. May all your family and friends shower you with unconditional love. May your lists of things to do be easily accomplished and fill you to the brim with self satisfaction. May any annoying coworkers or relatives do a complete 180 and become really nice people that also shower you with gifts and love. May your toast always fall on the floor butter-side up.

Happy 2007!


edit @ 6:32 pm

I made it to the yarn store and back intact. I apologize to all the knitters out there that may have found offensive the “Bernat Cottontots” mentioned in a previous post. I was around some real fanatics enthusiasts today who actually gasped when I mentioned my last project was done with Bernat, and they’ve almost got me convinced that I was using shoddy materials… like trying to use Reeves oil pastels for artwork which is akin to using crayons instead of the smoother, better built and more expensive Grumbacher or Van Gogh art oils. I’m torn, but it doesn’t matter because overall this yarn store excursion was a great time and I’m glad I went. After an hour plus at the store with a fantastic saleslady and all the extremely helpful knitters also on hand, here’s my first restrained purchases from the local yarn store:

The first purchase from LYS

I really like the bamboo knitting needles since they are so very pretty, seem to be less slippery than the metal ones I was using on christmas day, and they are made of a really environmentally friendly material. I was going to request needles made of old wood timber, but it just wouldn’t have even been funny in the company I found myself in. All the vocal knitters seemed to think this bamboo pair was a good set to continue learning on after quite a discussion amongst themselves (and I did get visibly lost during the round needles portion of that). I just love how friendly and educational my first group experience was with knitters. I found it touching to be given an overview on how to read labels by a yarn-adoring stranger just because she loves yarn so much and wanted to share. I also got quite indepth opinions from a lady who is also learning to knit after doing only crochet, and another woman who thought both of us moving from crochet should do something called continental knitting to cause less finger strain. We stood there as deer in headlights as the knitters gently changed the subject to learning basic stitches with favorite video learning websites. I also picked up four balls of Schoeller Stahl Punk for a future project for the niece(s), and then for the scarf for J I found some beautiful blue GGH yarn that’s half merino and amazingly soft. The yarn I picked was all 70% off, which made restraint difficult. I mean, some of the yarn left behind is beautiful and soft and just amazing in the samples that have been knit or crocheted up.

I’ll probably still use department store yarn when I don’t need something so wonderful, but damn these fibres were made to be next to skin – like a caress. I was reminded of what the future could hold when a knitter was mentioning how she’d saved $1500 by shopping at this sale… which means she still spent $500 if she was shopping only at the 70% off table. Holy crip on a cracker.

Ok – I’m heading back to watch the boys play football (video game, of course. These guys, go outside to play? pffft. Outside means beer spillage, yo) and work through this scarf. Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “it begins

  1. I’ll pull up a chair and sit next to you in the department-store-yarn-corner. I have not yet allowed myself to go any fancier or upscale than Lion Brand yarn, and yes, I do use Bernat (though even I can’t bring myself to use Red Heart, it’s just not snuggly enough). But as for the really nice stuff… not yet. I figure, between the fact that I’m still really really new at this knitting stuff (I only finished my first-ever project last year!) and I’m still not quite rolling in dough, it’s better to practice on the low-rent stuff.

    Though I have been known to tear the label off if I’m going out in nice company…

  2. “I was going to request needles made of old wood timber…”

    This made me laugh and laugh.

    With respect to using the box-store yarn, if you like the way it feels and looks, then go for it. There are times (baby and kid’s clothes especially) that something rugged and washable just makes more sense. And acrylics really have improved in the past ten years or so.

    On the other hand, and because I lean more towards the yarn-snob end of the spectrum myself, I would suggest buying just one ball of some high-end stuff and making a small thing with it (wrist-warmers, for example, like the “Voodoo” ones in Knitty, take less than a 50g ball, are very quick, and are a good introduction to knitting in the round and buttonholes if you haven’t had one). Just so you can feel the difference.

    As in most things, “the best you can afford” is a good guideline. Cheap yarn, cheap tools, cheap kitchen stuff, cheap ingredients… sometimes they can give you a false impression of the craft you’re trying and what you’re capable of (and I mean “cheap” here as in “low quality”).

    The thing I love… *one* of the things I love… about knitting is that there’s no such thing as wasting yarn. Unlike sewing, where cut fabric is committed to being a pattern, yarn can be unraveled and used again as anything. Sure, maybe you’ll have to splice a few more times, but most reclaimed yarn will be as good as new and ready for a new incarnation. So don’t be afraid of the good stuff!

Leave a Reply

